NWFL24: Bayelsa State To Host Super Six Tournament

The Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) has announced Bayelsa State as the hosts of the 2023/2024 NWFL Premiership Super Six.

Bayelsa was confirmed as host by the NWFL on Tuesday following a review of bid interests from various states to stage the playoff competition.

The highly-anticipated NWFL Premiership title championship is scheduled to run from Thursday 16th to Sunday 26th May, 2023 in Yenagoa,the capital of Bayelsa State.

The NWFL chairman,Nkechi Obi, said, “On behalf of the board and management of the NWFL, let me congratulate Bayelsa State for being selected as the hosts for the NWFL Premiership Super Six.”

According to her, “We hope this opportunity to host a great Super Six will further boost women’s football in Bayelsa and raise the profile of the sport in Nigeria.”

This will mark the first time that the NWFL Premiership playoff tournament will be hosted by Bayelsa State,the home ground of Bayelsa Queens, who won the 2022 NWFL Premiership campaign, and famously won the WAFU-B playoff and eventually finished third at the 2022 CAF Women’s Champions League held in Morocco.

Modupe Shabi, the NWFL’s Chief Operating Officer, On the tournament’s schedule confirmed that, the Super Six playoff will be played in a round-robin format, with each participating team playing five matches in the race for the coveted title.

She said the participating clubs are expected to arrive in the Bayelsa capitalon Thursday, May 16th 2024, followed by the draw and pre-match meeting to be held on Friday, May 17th.

The playoff tournament would begin on Saturday, 18th May with Matchday One and end with the Matchday Five on Sunday, 26th May. Three matches will be played on each Match Day, with breaks in between match days.
With holders Delta Queens missing out, six heavyweight sides will battle for the coveted crown, having qualified as the top three finishers from two groups during  the regular season.

The six teams include the host team Bayelsa Queens, Edo Queens, Rivers Angels, Confluence Queens, Nasarawa Amazons and Heartland Queens.

The winner of this year’s Super Six tournament will go on to represent Nigeria in the WAFU-B qualifiers to qualify for the 4th CAF Women’s Champions League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *